追求国际认

就在新的千禧年之初,爱德华多查威克一如其他智利葡萄酒产业人士,尝遍了各种能将智利葡萄酒推广于世界的方法。即使拥有足够的团队合作,不过碍于方法过于传统,智利拥有酿制世界级葡萄酒的潜力并未被世人充分认知,当然泰半肇因于智利在葡萄酒历史上欠缺相对的能见度。爱德华多查威克需要一个能吸引评酒家目光与世人注意力的新方法。

爱德华多查威克受到「巴黎品酒会」启发,决定举行一场智利葡萄酒与世界顶级葡萄酒一同进行盲品比较的活动。巴黎品酒会是由Steven Spurrier于1976年在巴黎举行的一场品酒活动,邀请法国知名评酒家以盲品方式品饮法国葡萄酒与加州葡萄酒,不过品饮结果却令各参与评审感到意外,结果同时也颠覆了葡萄酒界传统,来自加州的葡萄酒不管是在红酒或是白酒的类别上都名列前茅。爱德华多查威克认为,如果加州葡萄酒行,智利葡萄酒也行。

因此爱德华多查威克邀集了欧洲最具影响力的葡萄酒作家、侍酒师、评论家,举行了后来世人熟知的「柏林品酒会」,将他所酿制的葡萄酒如马克西米诺园主珍藏(Don Maximiano Founder’s Reserve)、Seña 和查威克酒庄(Viñedo Chadwick),选择Robert Parker标举为「千禧年份」,并且获得他最多百分满分评价的2000到2001年的年份佳酿,与来自世界各地著名产区的葡萄酒一同以盲品方式品饮。在不揭露任何与酒相关的讯息前提之下,评审们能抛开对葡萄酒产区与品牌的既定成见,以客观方式对葡萄酒的本质进行评判。

时间是2004年1月23日,品饮活动由葡萄酒业界知名人物同时也是巴黎品酒会举办人Steven Spurrier,和来自瑞士同时也是德语世界重要的著名酒评家René Gabriel一起共同主持。在盲品活动开始之前,先于柏林丽思卡尔顿酒店举办一场关于智利、波尔多与托斯卡尼风土研讨会,席间参与者无不对议题感到新颖好奇,也对接下来准备进行的盲品活动燃起兴趣。接着来自欧洲各界36位最具智识与影响力的专家齐聚一堂,一同品饮来自法国、义大利与智利的葡萄酒。一个小时后,世界对于智利葡萄酒的认知从此完全改观。

the quest
评语
AAA
BBB
  • 「我想世上没有其他酿酒商会如此大手笔地在全球举办这种研讨会和说明会,爱德华多的酒是智利的标竿,价格却只有世界知名欧洲经典酒庄的一小部分。」

    Steven Spurrier,共同主持人,《醇鉴》杂志编辑顾问暨醇鉴世界葡萄酒大赛主席,2009年5月5日
  • 「当爱德华多和我第一次讨论到盲品会这个念头时,我告诉他要有失望的心理准备,因为波尔多红葡萄酒在这一带特别受欢迎。结果揭晓时我真的十分惊喜,这个提醒其实是大错特错…」

    葡萄酒大师李志延,亚洲首位葡萄酒大师,亚洲《醇鉴》特约编辑,Decanter亚洲葡萄酒大赛联席主席,作者,葡萄酒顾问及讲师,2011年11月
  • 「这次活动之前,只有爱德华多知道自家的酒有多优秀,现在,全世界都知道了…有了这场世界级葡萄酒赛事无庸置疑的背书,爱德华多的酒展现了智利巨大的葡萄栽种潜力,也为智利酒在国际市场上赢得更好的地位与信誉。」

    Jorge Lucki,巴西《经济价值报》葡萄酒记者与专栏作家于圣保罗,2013年10月
  • 「如今这些品饮过程对具影响力的美国葡萄酒贸易商们如何看待智利,肯定起了作用,因此我看到他们不遗余力地为智利推广世界级葡萄酒产区应有的形象,而且能和其他地区所产的顶级酒平起平坐。」

    Josh Raynolds,Steven Tanzer的《国际葡萄酒窖》杂志葡萄酒评论人,2013年12月于美国
  • 「一位富有进取精神的智利葡萄酒商,伊拉苏酒庄(Viña Errázuriz)的爱德华多查威克已成功为智利葡萄酒业–或者至少为他自家的酒–打造了进化的里程碑…『柏林品酒会』无疑地将在智利葡萄酒史上占有一席之地。」

    葡萄酒大师Jancis Robinson,英国金融时报「智利葡萄酒崛起」,金融时报周末杂志,2004年2月14日

The quest for international recognition

By the early years of the new millennium, Eduardo Chadwick, like others in the Chilean wine industry, had tried most of the traditional ways to promote their wines around the world. And despite his team’s efforts, the message of Chile’s potential for making world-class wines still was not getting fully recognized due to Chile’s relatively short international history. He needed a way to really grab attention and open the eyes of world-critics.

Eduardo was inspired by a landmark event that took place in France, organised in 1976 by Steven Spurrier, who invited top French critics to a blind tasting of French and Californian wines. When the final results were revealed, they were all stunned to learn that wines from California topped the list of the red and the white wines. The event now known as the Judgment of Paris turned the wine world upside down, because they were tasted blind. And if it worked for California, why not for Chile?

Thus he organized what would come to be known as the Berlin Tasting, and invited Europe’s most influential wine writers, sommeliers, and leading critics to blind taste his own wines, Don Maximiano Founder’s Reserve, Seña, and Viñedo Chadwick, along with wines which were widely recognized as the most classic, from the most respected origins in the world, and furthermore, chosen from the 2000 and 2001 harvests that Robert Parker had heralded as the millennium vintage, the one he had awarded the most wines with a perfect 100 score. The judges would not know the identity of the wines in their glasses, and therefore any personal biases toward or against a given origin or brand would be eliminated.

The day of the event, January 23, 2004, the event was hosted by top wine-personalities, Steven Spurrier, the man who had organized the Judgment of Paris, along with René Gabriel, who was recognized as the leading palate in Switzerland and one of the most important German-speaking wine critics. Very attentive, curious, interested, and even surprised participants gathered at the Ritz Carlton Berlin Hotel for a seminar on Chilean, Bordeaux, and Tuscan terroir before the tasting. Then, 36 of Europe’s most knowledgeable and influential palates sat down to evaluate 16 wines from France, Italy, and Chile. An hour later, the world would begin thinking about Chilean wines in a very different way.

the quest
Opinions
AAA
BBB
  • I don’t think he was expecting at all to do as well as he did, but I think having done it, it was an educational experience further than he had planned, because instead of just educating the 40 or 50 people in the room, he educated the entire world.

    Steven Spurrier, Consultant Editor to Decanter & Chairman of Decanter World Wine Awards, United Kingdom, October 2013
  • When Eduardo and I first discussed the concept of this blind tasting format, I told him to brace himself for disappointment, especially given the popularity of Bordeaux reds in this part of the world. I was completely wrong in my warning and I am truly surprised by the results…

    Jeannie Cho Lee MW, First Asian Master of Wine, Contributing Editor Decanter Asia, Co-Chair of DAWA, Author, Wine Consultant & Educator, November 2011
  • Until that point only Eduardo knew what he had in his hands. Today the whole world knows… By reaching indisputable recognition in the world wine scene, Eduardo Chadwick’s wines have clearly demonstrated Chile’s tremendous vitivinicultural potential and have helped Chilean wines earn greater space and credibility in the international market.

    Jorge Lucki, Brazilian Wine Journalist and Columnist for Valor Econômico de Sao Paulo, October 2013
  • These tastings definitely have had an impact on how many influential members of the American wine trade view Chile today. So I see them as invaluable to promoting Chile’s well- deserved image as a source for world-class wine that can sit alongside the best that the rest of the world has to offer.

    Josh Raynolds, Wine Critic to Steven Tanzer’s International Wine Cellar, USA, December 2013
  • One enterprising Chilean wine producer, Eduardo Chadwick of Viña Errázuriz, has managed to organise a similar evolutionary milestone for the Chilean wine industry—or at least of his own wines… at what will doubtless come to be known in the history of Chilean wine as the “Berlin Tasting”

    Jancis Robinson MW, “Chilean Wine Grows Up” Financial Times UK, ft Weekend Magazine, February 14, 2004